Wiring Beehive Frames

Wiring bee hives frames at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Wiring Frames

A lot of beekeeping at Brookfield Farm is fun.  However, I would not put making frames, wiring them, and hanging wax into that category.  It falls under “must be done” and “oh, I can listen to these podcasts I collected.”

I put the frames together with a pneumatic stapler hooked to an air compressor, using a Kelley Bees frame nailing device (that’s what it’s called).  That’s all pretty normal.  I put staple through each end of the top bar and bottom bar, then 2 more staples: one under each “arm” of the top bar, going though the side and into the top bars.

I put the wax on the wire by using a Kelley’s Electric Embedder tool as well: a bar that puts a current though the wires, which heats them up and the wax melts to the wires.

The way I wire my frames is a bit different from most beekeepers I know.

First, it must be said that I do everything in westerns.  So my frames have only two lines of wires that cross them.

Here’s what I do:

Pull off a long piece of wire and thread it into the frame.

Threading wire into a bee hive frame at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Threading Wire Through

Loop it though on the other side:

A wire being looped though a bee hive frame Beekeeper Karen Bean threads wire into a bee hive frame at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Coming around the side

Give the wires a bit of a tug and grasp the ends with  thumb and finger and spin the frame.

Bee hive frame wire being twisted to complete wiring Wire being looped through a frame for a bee hive Beekeeper Karen Bean threads wire into a bee hive frame at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Beginning the Twist

The wires tighten up, but not quite enough

A completed twist on a bee hive frames wire at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Completed Twist

Snip the extra wire beyond the “twist”, and then twist that wire down.

Bee hive foundation frame's connected wire and tightening twist at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Trimmed and tightened on one side.

Holding the twisted side with my finger, I give a bend to the wire on the other side.

Wire on a bee hive foundation frame - the final tighten, at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

The other side tightened

That makes the wire tight.

This holds perfectly well.  As one beekeeper said to me : “the wire doesn’t hold the wax in place, it keeps it from sagging”.  Made sense to me.

One wired frame and one waxed bee hive foundation frame at at Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey, Maple Falls, Washington

Before and After hanging wax

I used to wire frames by using nails to hold the wire and stretching the frame a bit as I wired.

The way I do it now moves things along much faster for me.  Plus it works equally well.

I must admit that the next time I order frames, I think I’ll look into ready-made wooden western frames.  At least that will take part of workload away.  That could be a while though, I got a bit carried away last year and ordered an amazing number of frames (I can’t even remember now how many), and I’m still working though all those.

So the week hasn’t been exactly action packed, but I did get to be inside during all the rain.That’s the news from Brookfield Farm Bees And Honey in Maple Falls, Washington.

Do you have innovative ways of making frames, wiring, or hanging wax?  Do share.

About brookfieldfarmhoney

Brookfield Farm, a small off-grid apiary in Maple Falls, WA focuses on the beauty and bounties of Washington’s wilderness. I sell honey from our bees, whose naturally-treated, antibiotic-free hives are home to bees who fly Washington’s mountains and farmlands. Herbal salves and lip balms from Brookfield beeswax. Delicately infused honeys and vinegars. Varietal honeys from independent Washington beekeepers. Karen Edmundson Bean: beekeeper, photographer. Her love of the wilderness inspires her to discover new ways of bringing the wonders of nature to others. Brookfield Farm : the tastes, textures, sounds, and images of nature.
This entry was posted in 1 Beekeeping, 4 Hive Components and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wiring Beehive Frames

  1. Karen, have you ever run foundationless? If so I would really like to hear about how that went for you!

    Regards,
    Janet

    • Hi Janet – I tried that one year. It didn’t work out well. The bees worked everything but the foundationless…except for one “just put it in” moment. I was frustrated with no action in my perfectly level hive where I was trying foundationless beekeeping, following all the on-line directions. So I picked up an unworked frame, and plopped it into a hive with foundation and drawn comb. Putting it between 2 drawn combs. It came out perfect. I really should try this again with : drawn, foundationless, drawn, foundationless… and so on. By the way the hive it was plopped into was far from level – canted at 2 angles… The one thing I would suggest is WIRE the foundationless frame. It didn’t even get to the extractor, it broke on the way….Had it been wired, I think it would have held. If you can do foundationless, it’s great. Most healthy, and saves tons of money, and no darned if you do and darned if you don’t plastic or wax foundation issues.

  2. Pingback: Bee Hive Foundation : So Many Foundations So Little Time | Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

  3. David says:

    I think any honey being harvested from foundationless frames should just be taken with the wax, plop it in a jar, call it 100% natural and charge more per jar. Then you get new wax every year.

  4. Pingback: Harvesting Honey, Treating Hives | Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

  5. Pingback: Bee Year 2015 Overview – Brookfield Farm | Brookfield Farm Bees & Honey Blog

Leave a comment